The Ministry of Human Resource Development had appointed a committee, under the chairpersonship of Prof. H.R. Nagendra, Chancellor, Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana, Bengaluru (S-VYASA) for making recommendations on Yoga Education in Universities. The Committee had prescribed curriculum for Yoga courses in its recommendations. As a follow up to the recommendations of the Committee, the Ministry had asked the University Grants Commission (UGC) to promote five Yoga courses in Universities and Colleges. Course and Course Code-wise duration of Yoga courses are as follows:

  • Bachelors of Science (Yoga)/B.Sc.(Yoga), Duration – 3 year to 6 year
  • Masters of Science (Yoga)/M.Sc. (Yoga) Duration – 2 year to 4 year
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Yoga) PhD (Yoga) Duration – As per the PhD duration specified by UGC
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Yoga PGDY Duration – 1 year to 2 year
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Yoga Therapy PGDYT Duration – 1 year to 2 year

The following Central Universities had been identified to start the Yoga Departments, subject to the approvals of the competent authorities of concerned Universities:

  1. Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Uttarakhand;
  2. Visva Bharti Shantiniketan, West Bengal;
  3. Central University of Rajasthan;
  4. Central University of Kerala;
  5. Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Madhya Pradesh; and
  6. Manipur University.

The Ministry of AYUSH has informed that there is no Central legislation for regulation of education and practice yoga and naturopathy system. However, the Ministry of AYUSH has taken up the issue of granting central registration to the Bachelors of Naturopathy and Yogic Science (BNYS) through Central Council for Research in Yoga and Naturopathy.

This information was given by the Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Satya Pal Singh today in a written reply to a Lok Sabha question.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here